The 2010 ADA Standards for Accessible Design

The 2010 ADA Standards for Accessible Design

Course Description: The presentation will provide a general overview of all federal accessibility laws which may apply to a project, with a focus on learning how to identify what triggers the application of a federal accessibility law, what facility types are covered by each law, design criteria referenced by each law, how to apply the criteria when more than one law applies, and the differences between applicable criteria. The session will highlight important changes between the 1991 Americans with Disabilities Act Accessibility Guidelines (ADAAG) and the 2010 ADA Standards for Accessible Design and will focus on the updated ADA regulations and design standards to the extent to which new construction and alterations of a variety of facility types covered under ADA are affected. The session will also address projects covered under Title II of the ADA, which are currently permitted to comply with the new 2010 ADA Standards (UFAS) and the ADAGG until March 15, 2012, after which UFAS and ADAAG become obsolete and the only option for technical criteria is the 2010 Standards.
Learning Objectives:

    Recognize the substantive changes to the ADA
    Identify the types of projects covered by Titles II and III
    Apply the new 2010 ADA standards to facilities covered by Titles II and III
    Describe the key changes to the 1991 design guidelines included in the updated standard

Credit: 1 LU HSW

The owner of this website has made a commitment to accessibility and inclusion, please report any problems that you encounter using the contact form on this website. This site uses the WP ADA Compliance Check plugin to enhance accessibility.